Maharashtra State

About Maharashtra

Welcome to the Maharashtra State. Maharashtra State is a land of Maratha Empire Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj. Maharashtra state is located in India. The land of Maharashtra situated in the north center of the Indian peninsula is bordered by the states of Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Goa. The Arabian Sea forms the western coast of the state.

The Capital of Maharashtra State is Mumbai. Mumbai is an India’s largest city and the financial capital of India. Nagpur is the second capital of the state. Marathi is the official language. Geographically, historically State has five main regions they are Marathwada, Vidarbha, Paschim Maharashtra, Konkan, and Khandesh. The state has 36 districts.

Maharashtra is the land of prosperity, culture, spirituality with growing global recognition due to its advanced industrialization, ITech cities. Ancient glory says that the land is a motherland of great Marathas, the warriors who ruled out the region from centuries and one of the major reasons of rich culture and heritage of the state.

This State has a large number of the hill station, waterfalls, caves, temples, dams, religious places and sea fort. Forts have played an important role in the history of Maharashtra since the time of the Peshwas. Some of the important forts in State are Raigad, Vijaydurg, Sindhudurg, Pratapgad, Sinhagad.